Skip to main content

GNMSS Changes in Hyannis

With change, brings opportunity. Beginning February 1, 2022, Box Butte General Hospital (BBGH) and Greater Nebraska Medical and Surgical Services (GNMSS) will see changes among the medical providers serving both Alliance and Hyannis communities. Abigail Vogel, APRN-BC is transitioning to the Emergency Department (ED) full time, and ending her service at the GNMSS clinic. The hospital is thankful for her years in the clinic, and excited for her dedication to continue to serve our patients in a different role.

With Ms. Vogel transitioning to the ED, Dr. Bruce Forney will be covering a couple days a month in the interim, until a permanent rotation for Hyannis can be formalized. According to the Rural Health Clinic regulations, an Advanced Practice Provider must staff the clinic at least 50 percent of the time, meaning Dr. Forney will not be able to provide coverage all of the time and a Nurse Practitioner and/or Physician Assistant will need to provide the majority of the coverage in Hyannis, as seen in Hemingford and Alliance currently.

Jessica Hartman, PA-C will be joining the family medicine clinic in the coming months. Ms. Hartman is familiar with the Alliance area, and completed a student rotation at GNMSS during the fall of 2021. She is a native of Champion, NE and is passionate about serving a rural area. Ms. Hartman is excited for the opportunity to serve Grant County once she has been acclimated to GNMSS. BBGH is committed to serving the residents of Hyannis and Grant County and appreciates the patience of the communities as the scheduling is finalized.

Dr. Forney has been practicing in the Alliance area for over 40 years in both family and emergency medicine. He is bringing additional expertise to the GNMSS clinic. He will primarily serve to assist with patients in post-hospitalization follow-up visits and same day acute illness appointment requests, increasing access to care.

The medical team at GNMSS will continue the full-service practice of medicine offerings and welcome continuing to serve your healthcare needs. The team, along with Dr. Forney and Jessica Hartman includes: Jessica Ott, MD; Derek Shafer, MD; Brittney Bauer, PA-C; Sally Bryner, APRN-BC, and Kailee Kelly, APRN-C.